2024 Data Science Course Development Awardees

Profile pictures of the course development awardees in alphabetical order.
The 2024 Course Development Awardees in alphabetical order: Senarath Dharmasena, Franck Diaz-Garelli, Robert Hardin, Congrui Jin, Suryansh Kumar, Ning Ning, Charles Patrick , and Jun Wang.

Texas A&M Institute of Data Science (TAMIDS) has announced seven (7) faculty awards that will support the creation of new courses and materials to expand Data Science, AI, and Machine Learning literacy at Texas A&M Univiversity. The TAMIDS Data Science Course Development Grant Program is offered in association with the Texas A&M Center for Teaching Excellence and offers $15,000 awards to support course development across the University. The 2024 awards span the foundations, methods, and applications of Data Science and AI. Here is a list of the awardees, departments, and their proposal titles:

  • Congrui Jin | Engineering Technology and Industrial Distribution | Machine Learning in Material Manufacturing
  • Suryansh Kumar | Visual Computing and Computational Media | Deep Learning for 3D computer vision
  • Charles Patrick and Franck Diaz-Garelli | Biomedical Engineering | Biomedical and Health Data Science
  • Senarath Dharmasena | Agricultural Economics | Causal Inference, Machine Learning and Data Science in Agricultural and Applied Economics
  • Jun Wang | Agricultural Leadership, Education, and Communication | Positive Youth Development in the Age of AI
  • Ning Ning | Statistics | Special Topics in Sequential Monte Carlo
  • Robert Hardin | Biological and Agricultural Engineering | Deep Learning in Agriculture and Natural Resources

We received a record number of submissions this year, demonstrating our community’s passion and all the hard work occuring across campus to improve data science literacy. Thank you to everyone who submited and our review committee for making this program successful.